8:00am - Noon, 1pm-4:30pm
Ohio requires licensing for all dogs
All dogs three-months-old or older must register or renew their license each year between December 1 and January 31. New dogs owners must purchase a license within 30 days. Renewals submitted after January 31 incur a $12.00 late fee.
Licenses alert the Dog Warden of official ownership and the owner’s contact information. Per State law, recovered dogs without licenses may be sold or euthanized after only three days.
Owners may submit applications online, through mail or in our office.
We only accept checks or money orders. If sending via mail, please use the following contact information:
ATTN: DOG LICENSE DEPT
DAVID THOMAS, AUDITOR
25 W JEFFERSON ST
JEFFERSON, OH 44047-1092
|One Year License
|Three Year License
In addition to our office, owners may also submit applications in the following locations *with Registrar Fees possible:
- Ashtabula City License Bureau
858 Lake Ave, Ashtabula, OH 44004
- Jefferson License Bureau
4 W Walnut St, Jefferson, OH 44047
- Kray Feed
6560 S Main St, North Kingsville, OH 44068
- Caliber Feed & Supply
8850 State Route 534, Windsor, 44099
- Conneaut Public Library
- (440) 593-1608
304 Buffalo Street, Conneaut, Ohio, 44030
A kennel license costs $60.00 and includes five tags. Additional tags cost $1.00 per dog.
The term "kennel" means any pack or collection of dogs, over the age of three months, kept together for the purposes of hunting or for sale.
According to the Ohio Revised Code, a kennel owner is a "person, partnership, firm, company, or corporation professionally engaged in the business of breeding dogs for hunting or for sale." When a person breeds dogs avowedly as a hobby, "but permits sales to become such a factor that he advertises for sale" the breeding activity and dogs, that person "is professionally engaged in the business of dog breeding" and should be registered as a kennel.